Back to basics

I wanted to share my basic essentials for anyone who is starting out or even for those who have been doing crotchet for years to compare with. I love to see other people’s favourites!

I have so many different hooks but I have got my favourite which I use for most projects. I don’t remember the make of it, but I came across it on our holiday to Isle of Wight last year. It’s really comfortable to hold and work with, plus it has that added benefit of being a little reminder of a lovely family holiday!

I like to use a nice sturdy pair of scissors to cut any loose ends. I found mine in a discount store. I don’t think they need to be fancy as long as they can cut yarn!

My stitch counters were a Christmas gift from last year. I don’t need to use them very often but I am so glad to have them when I take on a large project and need to count a lot of stitches. Without them I am always loosing count and having to start again!

I carry two needles in my pack. I tend to use the bigger of the two as it is much easier to thread the yarn through. Again, you don’t need to spend a lot here. I have had the same two needles since I started my first big blanket over a year ago!

Now, no kit is complete without this last item… Yarn!I love to shop for yarn! I have so many to choose from but have taken a picture of white as it is what I am using at the moment for my corner to corner blanket. I’m sure I will have even more to choose from soon as I will be going to the knitting and stitching show Saturday!!! Exciting!!

What items do you have to have? Any favourites like my holiday hook? I’d love to know about your favourite essentials!

Leave a Reply

